Dropping the Drive-Thru

13 Apr

I’ve been working very hard to break a bad habit: I noticed that I tend to stop at a drive-thru for a snack or lunch when I’m out running errands. What’s worse though is that I realized that I order more when I’m alone (and somewhat anonymous) rolling through the drive-thru, whereas I tend to order less to eat when I actually go inside and face someone and others might hear what I’m ordering.

fast food logos

Fast food on the brain. Image credit: tswift4ever @ http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x228/tswift4ever/food-1.jpg

It sounds a little silly when I describe it at length like this. And it certainly isn’t a conscious binge or sneaky behavior. I’m not sure why I do it. But I’m starting to feel glad that I’ve become aware of it so that I can stop doing it. I’m dropping drive-thrus from my life completely. I have to if I really want to lose weight and do so more quickly. If I really want fast food or any restaurant food, I’m going to insist (to myself) that I go in and get it. Maybe that little extra trouble will help me control my desire and the amount I want to eat when I’m out. Or, better yet, maybe I’ll just go home and eat something healthier and cheaper.

I have to say, as much as I hope the media uproar regarding the beef industry’s “pink slime” is overblown, it is having an affect on me.

I have zero craving for a fast food hamburger or beef taco these days. But seriously, how long will that last? Why is eating at restaurants, even fast food joints, so appealing at times? I think some of it has to do with ease (aka some laziness) in terms of having someone else make your food so you don’t have to (and don’t have to do dishes). I also think some of it has to do with satiating cravings for things we might not have in the fridge on a particular day. Whatever the reason, I’m finally coming to terms with wanting to ignore that craving voice in my head because I know it’s not healthy and it’s not worth the expense.

I think part of what I’ll need to do is a little more reminding and convincing myself that whatever hunger or craving I’m feeling can be satiated with what I already have, equally or more so, than my favorite junk food. If I’m craving nachos with gooey fake cheese sauce, I need to remind myself that there is feta and hummus at home. Or, I can even make my own chips by toasting some cut-up tortillas in the oven (this is great because you control the amount of oil and salt–and I love to make them using seasoning salt!). Part of me sighs at the amount of time and fuss it takes but the rest of me knows I feel better about myself and what’s going into my body when I’m eating something I make rather than something from a fast food chain.

Obviously this is harder to do when you’re out with others, especially if you’re on a road trip of any length. I’m going to be realistic about this goal. It’s really about the choices I’m making when I’m alone.

Wish me luck! I’ll report back on my progress. :)

–Michelle

6 Responses to “Dropping the Drive-Thru”

  1. kidsdiggardens April 13, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    If you haven’t read Brian Wansink’s Mindless Eating yet, I’d highly recommend it. He has done lots of fun and interesting research on the little subtleties that cause us to overeat or change our perceptions about some foods.

    • Diet Drop April 13, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll check it out. Being more self-aware is a much better reward than a cheeseburger and fries…I keep telling myself. ;) –Michelle

    • Drive Thru Guy April 18, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

      Mindless Eating. Sounds like most of my customers!

  2. Drive Thru Guy April 18, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Here’s something I do to save money. Eating out adds up and is ridiculously expensive. I always keep a pack of hot dogs in the fridge and some nice fresh hot dog buns on the counter. Whenever I feel the urge to eat out, I boil of a couple of these delicious bad boys and enjoy them with several different toppings. It’s the same junk I’d be getting at a fast food joint, it fills me as much as that crap and it’s WAY cheaper!

    • Diet Drop April 19, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      Throw some canned chili and a slice of cheese on that and I’m in heaven. Good idea, thanks! :) –Michelle

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Avoiding Emotional Eating: How to Distract Yourself from Unhealthy Snacking « Diet Drop - May 22, 2012

    […] stop at a fast food drive-thru, which I also know I don’t really want to do (see this post: Dropping the Drive-Thru). To help myself not eat my way through this stressful day, I’m making this list of […]

Leave a Reply

