Prehistoric Monster Syndrome

6 Apr
Monster drawing by Sydney Padua of London.

Illustration credit: http://www.sydneypadua.com.

That’s right, you all know what I’m going to rant about right now, the ugly truth of PMS. Therefore I think it would be wise to note that this post is intended for ladies’ read only. :)

When I was younger I have never had any symptoms, except for the first day’s cramps. No mood swings, no crankiness, no weight fluctuations accompanied by bloated stomach, no body aches, no general tiredness. In fact, I even thought that this syndrome was a myth, created by women as an excuse for some of their behaviors. How naive I was. If somebody told me that now, I might just punch that person in the face. As you can see currently I am going through some of the crankiness. It’s the fifth day of an uncontrollable depressed mood for me, and there’s nothing I can do to make it better. I already warned my dearest understanding husband about an upcoming monster attack; he is sweet though, he turns my every snap into a joke and makes me laugh, gently diffusing the situation. However, I understand that every person has his limits, and God knows I don’t want to test his, that’s why I’m trying to control myself as much as I possibly can.

A few days ago, feeling on the thin side, I decided to do my measurements. I have lost half an inch since we started the Diet Drop Project. But I didn’t have a scale; Michelle does, so I had to wait till Wednesday for her to come back from her trip. Unfortunately by that time  my whole monster transformation started to happen and the numbers that I saw on the scale left a bitter taste in my heart. I knew that weight fluctuates during these days but never thought it’s so dramatic. I gained seven pounds from what I started with. Seven! Scales must be broken indeed! I can’t possibly understand my body; one day I’m in weight loss and making progress, a couple days later I’m seven pounds heavier and even crankier. How does that make any sense?! Why, if evolution made our bodies so smart, can’t it adopt to our emotional, physical, and financial plans? Maybe I’m not ready to be a mother yet, so can I get a break? Maybe I have other priorities in life right now rather than preparing for a motherhood. I don’t need any extra push from a mother nature telling me what to do and reminding me of my clocks, I have my own plans scheduled. However there’s no escape from it, and we just have to take it either as a curse or a blessing of being a woman.

But it gets worse and worse every year. If before the syndrome would take just a couple days, now it can last a week. And the pain of a first day gets so intolerably intense that it’s hard for me even to breath. I could take up to double daily dosage of Advil and still I would be in pain. Out of plain curiosity, I added up together all those first days of pain in my life, do you know how much they make together? Six months! I have spent six months of my life in excruciating absolutely intolerable pain. It can hardly classify as a blessing to me…

Yours truly,

— Vita.

3 Responses to “Prehistoric Monster Syndrome”

  1. sweetopiagirl April 6, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. April April 7, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I was the same! I thought PMS mood swings would never affect me… and then I got a boyfriend. HAHA. Surprise!

    Although I used to get and sometimes still get intense cramping where I’ll keel over and just shiver and actually faint from the pain! My mother had to get her tubes tied because she kept having to miss work.

    But I DO hope you feel better soon!

    • Diet Drop April 7, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      I gave up an idea that it’s gonna get any better :))

      Thanks for sharing, really appreciate your comment!

      — Vita :)

Leave a Reply

