Visually Tricking Your Hunger

24 Mar

Since the beginning of Project Diet Drop, I started to cut down on my meal portions, eating from 1/3 to 1/2 of what I’d eat before, and giving myself around 20 minutes to see if I’d want any extra. It’s an old trick, because usually that’s how long it takes for a meal to start digesting, and therefore the need to eat more disappears. And sure enough, I do not go for extra, I just allow myself room for a choice without any restrictions (that’s the reason why all strict diet plans always fail for me). They also advise people to eat on a smaller plate, which visually makes your portion look bigger. Well, I decided to implement another technique: I put this smaller portion onto a full dinner plate and fill out the rest of the empty space with bulky cauliflower,  broccoli, or salad. We all know that we mainly eat with our eyes, and it helps to see big plate full of food in front of you rather than small one. It definitely works for me!

I also read about a couple of other tricks that you can use to help yourself lose some weight:

  • Set a timer for 20 minutes and try to stretch your meal. It’s known that the slower you eat, the better it is for your digestive system and also to fill you up even before you finish your plate. When I was a little kid, my grandpa and I played a little game that I was supposed to chew every bite depending on how many teeth I had in my mouth. It’s a silly game, but he achieved his point of getting me to eat slower. I know that the timer idea may seem a little bit dramatic, but nevertheless it helps to set the habit. For example, it always feels that I eat much slower when Michelle and I have lunches together because we just can’t stop chatting. Although to be completely fair, she eats very slow to begin with. I guess she has her own built-in timer. (:
  • Serving more veggies leads to more intake. If you have three or more types of vegetables on your plate, then you tend to eat more of it without even trying. I guess I never realized it, but my husband and I always have green salad with whatever we cook, which makes up for this rule.  I have to admit, I’m a lettuce hater. I don’t eat it not because I don’t like it, but because I sincerely believe that lettuce is a waste of natural resources, and except for fiber, it does not contain anything else; it doesn’t even have any taste or smell. And when it comes to fiber, it can be found in other more nutritious produce. So our salads usually contain cucumbers, tomatoes, avocados (must!), and sometimes bell peppers, all sprinkled with a little bit of olive oil and either vinegar or lemon juice. Some variations include smoked oysters, which usually do not survive till dinner as we both can’t stop eating them right away; or I’d put feta cheese and a hard boiled egg in the salad, but usually I’d make that for lunch for myself.

I hope you find these little tips on how to trick your body into eating less any helpful. It definitely works for me, hope it’ll work for you too!

Yours truly,

– Vita (:

One Response to “Visually Tricking Your Hunger”

  1. Diet Drop March 25, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    It’s so true! My family has always said I eat slow (sometimes almost like an accusation that I eat too slow) but I don’t even realize it. I definitely agree that serving larger portions of veggies compared with the other food on the plate is a good trick. It’s worked for me. I also dislike many types of lettuce (especially endive/chicory lettuce; yuck, borderline torture) but I can’t get enough baby spinach. I base all my salads around spinach. –Michelle

Leave a Reply

