St. Patrick’s Day at a Korean Karaoke Bar? Sign Me Up!

19 Mar

We had planned to get small group of our friends together for a karaoke night for quite some time already, so finally one day we set the date, picked the bar, and called to make reservations without even realizing that it was St. Patrick’s Day. What a pleasant surprise that was for us! I always wanted to try to sing karaoke but never did since I have been super shy about my singing, therefore, I knew that a few variables had to be considered in order to make this night pleasant and memorable for everyone. First was picking the right place, which wasn’t that hard; Los Angeles has plenty of Korean karaoke bars that have private rooms where you can comfortably sing with your friends without being intimidated by strangers. ¬†Second was to choose the right company within the same music taste. That wasn’t hard either! Michelle and I grew our friendship stronger based on our common appreciation of blues. My husband’s taste though is a little bit more on the heavier side; he has a drum set at home and every day plays few hours of Metallica, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Ozzy, Rush, and others. Our friends also play different instruments and are fans of good rock, so the company was perfect for a night of good quality music. And of course I knew in advance that the ability to sing karaoke directly correlates with the amount of alcohol consumed. After all that was arranged and set, I knew we would have nothing but a good time ahead of us!

The night had a shy start, and the first round of songs was carefully selected for our singing ability (cue “Don’t Stop Believing”). When first glass of wine started to kick in, I dragged Michelle up to sing “Hotel California” with me, and that’s when all borders were broken for me. I never thought karaoke could be so much fun, although somehow it felt as though I sing much better when I’m alone in the car. (: The guys were singing Metallica, Rolling Stones, and Guns N Roses. Michelle and her husband performed “Sweet Home Alabama,” which I thought was very cute and “Ghostbusters.” Michelle did the entire “Waterfalls” song and rap by TLC. There was also Boston, Journey, Incubus, and my personal favorite, Dire Straits’ “Sultans of Swing,” and, with enough alcohol by the end of the night, Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody” and “We Are the Champions.” Four hours of super fun singing; I can’t believe we haven’t done it sooner!

Your truly,

— Vita (:

One Response to “St. Patrick’s Day at a Korean Karaoke Bar? Sign Me Up!”

  1. Diet Drop March 20, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    It was awesome! On a food-related note, Vita and I only had a couple chicken wings and fries because the guys devoured everything, ha ha. I don’t want to know what all the Vodka & 7Up calories added up to though. :) –Michelle

Leave a Reply

