Weight Watcher? Nah! I’m a Food Watcher!

12 Mar

Michelle and I started this Diet Drop project 19 days ago when we decided to drop straight diet plans and instead focus on a conscious look at the food we eat, hoping that once we have more critical outlook on our menu it’ll help us to create healthier habits and consequently result in fewer pounds. So does it work for me? It certainly does. I am watching what I eat. I have food on my plate in front of me, I look at it, admire it, inspect it from every angle and then I eat it. Did I lose any pounds? Not yet. Well actually I didn’t weigh myself since we started, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t. My stomach got flatter though, and that’s a plus! The bad news is that I fell off the wagon a few times–there was a pizza involved, and a flan, and brownies with chocolate ice cream on top… Here is the good news though: 

1. I started to take smaller portions. My plate nowadays looks at least 1/3 of what it’d look like before.

2. I totally got rid of any sodas, juices (unless it’s freshly squeezed), and vitamin waters from our fridge. I substituted them with iced tea. Every morning I brew a whole pitcher of tea, refrigerate it, and drink it throughout the day. Works great!

3. I started to substitute such side dishes as rice and potatoes with a steamed, stir-fried, or stewed vegetables.

4. I definitely developed a conscious outlook on everything I eat, especially if it’s not the healthiest food. If before I’d eat it without any trace of guilt, now a piece of pizza would be followed by the whole lecture in my mind of what I could have eaten instead. And to tell you the truth I hate when someone lectures me, especially if it’s my own consciousness.

So here it is, even if I fall off the wagon once in a while, I still think that the whole experiment is working pretty good toward development of much more healthier future habits.

Yours truly,

— Vita.

3 Responses to “Weight Watcher? Nah! I’m a Food Watcher!”

  1. Diet Drop March 13, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    I’m snacking on Pub Mix, Chex Mix, and sunflower seeds tonight. :) –Michelle

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly loved browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again soon!

  3. quick healthy meals April 4, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something. I think that you just could do with some % to power the message home a bit, however other than that, that is fantastic blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

