Dropping Breakfast

8 Mar

Most nutrition advisers, including my skating coach, will tell you that you need to have breakfast every morning to get your body and metabolism up to full speed for the day. But I can’t do it. Don’t get me wrong, I love breakfast foods, but I have a problem eating in the morning. I usually need to be awake for at least an hour or two before I even start to feel hungry. I wake up, start to get ready for the day, brush my teeth, enjoy the minty freshness (which also makes me not want to eat), feed breakfast to my cat and husband (in that order), and then get to work. I’m not ready for food until almost 11:00 a.m., at which point I usually tell myself to just wait for lunch.

I know this goes against the usual “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” adage but this is one of the rules I am dropping.

One way I try to compromise in order to get some nutrition in the morning is to drink half a glass of 100% juice (I don’t drink any juice that’s not 100% because I don’t like those sugary fake juice drinks–read labels closely people!). I drink it even before I brush my teeth. This way, I’m getting the benefits of the juice at a time of day when my body needs it most and I’m not eating anything that will upset my stomach or routine.

There are a couple days a week when I do actually want food by 9:00 or 10:00 a.m. In those cases, I’ll eat a small bowl or oatmeal or a couple of eggs if I’m by myself. But for me, breakfast is usually more of a social meal. I enjoy it most when it’s more like a brunch with friends or family late in the morning. Vita is great at making breakfast out of whatever she has in the fridge. My husband makes really good omelettes. And when my grandparents come to town to visit, we have a tradition of going out for eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, hash browns, etc. (and not eating again until dinnertime). When I’m by myself though, I keep it very small.

This morning, I can’t even stand the idea of eating anything. But I’m looking forward to lunch. :)

–Michelle.

3 Responses to “Dropping Breakfast”

  1. Health Coach Meg March 8, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    There are so many people out there who share the same attitudes about breakfast as you do! However, it is so important that you do have something. Consider a protein shake or a piece of fruit to get you started! Good luck with the rest of your journey. Follow my blog at healthcoachmeg.wordpress.com for inspiration and tips to help you along the way! :)

  2. coachcrystalspadawan March 8, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    I use Shakeology and get all my vegetables as I am driving to work. When I do that, I am not starving by lunch. Otherwise, I make poor lunch choices.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feeding time at the family zoo | Pdubyah - April 24, 2012

    […] Dropping Breakfast (dietdrop.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

