The Weighting is the Hardest Part

6 Mar

It seems like waiting for weight to drop when you are dieting is an excruciatingly slow process. And the actual weigh-ins during the process are excruciatingly painful for me. I have really gotten hung up on numbers (calories, pounds, inches) in the past and been way too hard on myself about it. Other diet advice sources will tell you to only weigh yourself in the morning or weigh yourself on the same day and time each month to get a more accurate average. But stepping on the scale, even for this fun project, made me feel a little sick to my stomach and I felt a surge or sarcastic bitterness in my attitude for the following hour until I told myself that’s a stupid waste of energy. This is one of the points of Diet Drop. We’re tackling these idiosyncrasies and struggles together in order to see this whole process through to getting to our goal weights or shapes.

The combination of waiting for weight to drop and actually acknowledging what my current weight is makes me feel discouraged. In the past, I would have let myself feel that way for a long time. But now, as I’m writing this, I’m sitting in Vita’s kitchen and we’re about to have a terrific healthy breakfast together of eggs, avocado, tomatoes, onions, and turkey bacon. There’s no way I can stay in a discouraged mood! One thing I’m really trying to be better about is waiting between servings to avoid getting seconds. I have a terrible habit of eating because things taste good. With the launch of this Diet Drop project, I’m trying to be much more consistent about eating a portion for a meal and then waiting at least 15 minutes to determine if I really am still hungry for more or not. That little grace period makes a huge difference.

Okay, enough stalling. Here are my current numbers. This is really difficult to admit but instead of dwelling on how hard this is to say in print, I’m going to focus on how drastically these numbers will change (I hope) in the coming months.

Age: 28

Height: 5’8″

Weight: 200 lb

Arm: 13″

Bust: 39″

Waist: 35″

Hips: 44″

Buttocks: 47″

Thigh: 29″

Wish me luck! I wish you all luck too!

–Michelle

4 Responses to “The Weighting is the Hardest Part”

  1. Leesah Em March 6, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    You can do it, Michelle! If you want added numbers and inspiration, I have my weight loss stats and even god awful, first thing in the AM photos showing my progress! Good for you on putting yourself out there and I wish you all the success in the world!

    • dietdrop March 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      Thank you, Leesah! I appreciate the encouragement. Please do share your story with us! We wish you the best too! –Michelle

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weigh-In Wednesday: Small Changes Work for Me « Diet Drop - May 2, 2012

    […] posts: Weigh-In Wednesday: Dropping Centimeters, The Weighting is the Hardest Part; see more in the “Weigh-Ins” category. Rate this: Share this:Like this:LikeBe the […]

  2. Weigh-In Wednesday: Small Changes Work for Me « Diet Drop - May 2, 2012

    […] posts: Weigh-In Wednesday: Dropping Centimeters, The Weighting is the Hardest Part; see more in the “Weigh-Ins” category. Rate this: Share this:Like this:LikeBe the […]

Leave a Reply

